Thursday, 31 March 2011

The Time Will Come #8

The Time Will Come is weekly meme hosted by Jodie at Books For Company where we highlight books that we've maybe had for a while now- we really want to read them but never seem to get around to them. This feature is perfect for me 'cause I've got lots!
I was eagerly anticipating the release of Girl in the Arena when it was published in paperback back in September and had pre-ordered it after hearing lots of good things about it. Since then it has been sitting unread on my shelf, but I still think it looks really good, and hopefully I'll get around to reading it fairly soon. This book isn't published in the UK yet so I have the US copy- this book probably isn't very well known outside the US. Has anyone read it yet? Some parts of it sound similar to The Hunger Games, and I love the tough girl character. Plus I really love the cover!

Synopsis from Goodreads:
It’s a fight to the death—on live TV—when a gladiator’s daughter steps into the arena





Lyn is a neo-gladiator’s daughter, through and through. Her mother has made a career out of marrying into the high-profile world of televised blood sport, and the rules of the Gladiator Sports Association are second nature to their family. Always lend ineffable confidence to the gladiator. Remind him constantly of his victories. And most importantly: Never leave the stadium when your father is dying. The rules help the family survive, but rules—and the GSA—can also turn against you. When a gifted young fighter kills Lyn’s seventh father, he also captures Lyn’s dowry bracelet, which means she must marry him... For fans of The Hunger Games and Fight Club, Lise Haines’ debut novel is a mesmerizing look at a world addicted to violence—a modern world that’s disturbingly easy to imagine.

From the back of the book:
The Fans all went wild. So did the Paparazzi. But her father wound up dead, killed in the arena on one of the biggest fight nights of the year. And by gladiator rules, Lyn is forced to marry her father's killer. Unless she fights him herself...

5 comments:

  1. Sounds like a good book :) At first I thought it would be some Hunger Games spin-off/behind the scenes/something

    ReplyDelete
  2. This has been on a review people's WoW, was it released in UK before USA?

    ReplyDelete
  3. Um, I don't know- I'm confused. I thought it was the other way around and I had the US version?
    I have a bloomsbury paperback published in September 2010 from Amazon?
    :/

    ReplyDelete
  4. Hmm, l don't know!
    lol sorry to confuse you. l just know it's on a lot of WoW's .. unless it's a second book in the series?

    ReplyDelete

Thank you for taking the time to leave a comment. I really do read and appreciate every comment written. x

LinkWithin

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...
 
Blog Design by Imagination Designs all images from the Elvendorf Valley and Make Believe kits by Irene Alexeeva